The Birdhouse: A West Virginia gardening journal

A writing retreat

Trying to jumpstart my summer writing, Matt packed me off for a few days with a big pile of books so I could make as big a mess I wanted, stay up writing as late as I wanted, and eat as crappily as I wanted.

IMG_1915

This was the scene inside the Birdhouse. Me & Stephen Crane going at it.

I did get a few hours of gardening in as well, shifting the mountain laurel shrubs I’d planted too close together in April, planting some lilies of the valley a neighbor let me dig up from her yard, and weeding. And some more weeding.

Everything is looking good right now. Each year things look a little less stark, a little more natural. It’s tough when you can only tend things every few weeks or so.

Can’t wait until the monarda start blooming in a few weeks!

This entry was published on June 10, 2016 at 7:35 pm. It’s filed under spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

