The Birdhouse: A West Virginia gardening journal

A gardening respite

It’s been a crazy week in Baltimore, to say the least. Violent conflict last Saturday after a huge protest march, rioting and violence on Monday, demonstrations all week, surprising charges levied at the police officers in the Freddie Gray case on Friday, celebration in the streets Friday, yesterday, and today. It’s been an anxious but also inspiring week. And exhausting.

I needed to come out here to put some more hellebores in the ground, ones that Greg gave me a few weeks ago that he dug up from his garden. And of course, this time of year, lots of weeding. I also needed to do a bit of self-cultivation, after this past week. It’s been wonderful to be in the woods, digging, caring for the flowers.

The wildflower seeds I planted two weeks ago are just starting to sprout. Here’s a photo of the bed: the two clumps in the background in the middle of the picture are May Night salvia.

Wildflowers just starting to sprout. They are the tiny little green spots amidst the May Night salvia (top right), galliardia, and other random things.

Wildflowers just starting to sprout. They are the tiny little green spots amidst the May Night salvia (top right), galliardia, rudbeckia, threadleaf coreopsis, and other random things. Soil is looking so much better.

Wildflowers just starting to sprout. They are the tiny little green spots amidst the May Night salvia (top right), galliardia, rudbeckia, threadleaf coreopsis, and other random things. Soil is looking so much better.

Hellebore I planted last fall, blooming now.

Hellebore I planted last fall, blooming now.

Here’s one of the hellebores I planted last fall, just to the left of the front door. The foliage on this one is beautiful– I remember admiring it whenever I walked by Ginny’s house with Lucy. I think this one is my favorite.

I also looked around in back and discovered that we have some wild elderberry bushes growing at the edge of the woods. This is great since I’m thinking about planting some more in some of the wet spots around the house.

Elderberry bush at the edge of the backyard, about to bloom.

Elderberry bush at the edge of the backyard, about to bloom.

The dogwood saplings I planted last week haven’t put out any leaves yet. Hopefully they will by the next time we visit.

Taking Lucy for a walk, I also discovered some other things flowering. The birdsfoot violets (viola pedata) are gorgeous. I noticed them in bright purple clumps along Rte. 9 coming up the ridge from town. And the shrubs– I don’t know what they are. But I think the one with the pink flower buds produces bright red fruit. Not positive about that, though.

And yes, the stiltgrass is just starting to show its little evil heads. Hopefully I put enough Bonide down 2 weeks ago to prevent it from taking over this year.

This entry was published on May 3, 2015 at 8:31 pm. It’s filed under spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

