The Birdhouse: A West Virginia gardening journal

Swamp meadow reclamation project: update

With regular rain this summer, I feel lucky that everything is coming along so well. There’s lots of seedbox that came up just in the past month or so (the few plants that were not choked out by the stilt grass last summer turned a beautiful bright red in the fall, so I’m looking forward to it. And a TON of Pennsylvania smartweed. (I’m not sure if this is a good thing, but the pink flowers are kind of pretty, so I’m leaving it for now.)

Seedbox and smartweed in foreground, a patch of sedge with small green bulrushes in background.

Seedbox and smartweed in foreground, a patch of sedge with small green bulrushes in background.

The grasses and sedges bounced back really well–lots of different kinds of things. Along the water channels, green bulrushes came up with a vengeance and had reached 5-6′ tall. Too big and too many … they were choking out the swamp milkweed I’m trying to establish, and were so tall that they were dwarfing the flowering plants in the bed along the driveway. So I spent the last weekend in June digging most of them up. That was a pain. But it looks much better now.

One flower I wish I had taken a closeup of is tiny and bright orange. I wonder what it is. Maybe scarlet pimpernel? It’s all over the place. I’ll have to be sure to take my camera out next time we’re out at the Birdhouse … hopefully it will still be blooming in a couple of weeks.

This entry was published on July 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm. It’s filed under summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

